Sales Popup
Surat, Gujarat
6 hours ago

Is Trident Gum Halal?

Is Trident Gum Halal

If you’re like most people, you have probably never looked at the ingredients listed on the label of a gum before throwing it in your mouth. 

It’s just gum, right? 

Unfortunately, while some companies like Chewwies are dedicated to producing vegan, sugar-free, and 100% halal-certified gummies, some others are not. And it is extremely important to confirm before consumption to ensure you stay on a halal diet.

In this article, we will be looking at Cadbury’s Trident gum and answering the big question, is trident gum halal?

Quick Answer: Not all trident gum is halal. There are both halal and non-halal flavours of the chewing gum.

Trident chewing gum is the first patented sugar-free gum, using saccharin instead of sugar. It is sold under the brand name Stimorol gum in some European countries. 

Trident gum

All flavours of the chewing gum contain:

Gum base

Gum base is the ingredient that differentiates chewing gum and bubble gum from other confectionery products. It is a non-nutritive, non-digestible substance that allows for gum to be chewed for hours on end without experiencing considerable change. 

The actual composition of the gum base is secret. Although, it typically contains content of synthetic or plant-based origin.

Conclusion: Gum base is Halal


Glycerin is a non-toxic, sweet-tasting liquid used in Trident gum as a softener. Softeners work by retaining moisture and preventing the gum from becoming hard.

Glycerin has both plant and animal sources; plant-glycerin is gotten from plant oils, and animal-glycerin is gotten from animal fats.

Trident gum most likely uses plant glycerin, as is common in food processing.

Conclusion: Glycerin is Halal

Artificial Colours

Colour is an essential property of gum as it adds to the enjoyment of eating. Trident gum contains colours in relatively small quantities and is petroleum-sourced.

Conclusion: Artificial colours in Trident chewing gum are halal


The flavour in trident gum is either natural or artificial. The only difference between the two is natural flavour has 80% of its crude extracts from plant or animal sources. It is almost impossible to conclude whether a flavour listed as Trident’s natural flavour is halal or not. 

However, below is a list of all current Trident flavours, including their halal status;

Halal Trident Gum Flavours

Here are flavours of trident gum that are Halal:

Original Trident flavours

Original Trident is sweetened with xylitol, a sugar alcohol that reduces plaque and protects teeth against decay. However, there is no alcohol left when the product is ready for packaging.

It also contains sorbitol, mannitol, aspartame, sucralose, soy lecithin and BHT (to maintain freshness). 

  • Spearmint
  • Original Flavour
  • Tropical Twist
  • Cinnamon
  • Watermelon
  • Lime Passionfruit
  • Dragon Fruit Lychee
  • Bubblegum
  • Peppermint
  • Mint Bliss
  • Minty Sweet Twist
  • Wintergreen
  • Pineapple
  • Island Berry Lime
  • Black Raspberry
  • Strawberry
  • Splashing Mint
  • Wild Blueberry Twist
  • Passionberry Twist
Purely Trident
  • Peppermint
  • Spearmint
Trident White
Trident White was known as Trident Advantage until 2001. It uses aspartame as a sweetener in place of xylitol.
  • Cool Rush
  • Peppermint
  • Spearmint
  • Wintergreen
  • Microcrystals
Trident Vibes
  • Sour Berry Twist
  • Tropical Beats
  • Spearmint Rush
  • Peppermint Wave
Trident Fresh
  • Spearmint Cool with Cucumber Accents
  • Peppermint Infusion with Herbal Accents
Trident Unwrapped
  • Original
  • Spearmint
  • Tropical Twist
  • Cinnamon
  • Bubblegum
Trident Flavor

Haram Trident Gum Flavours

Here are flavours of trident gum that are not Halal:

Trident Splash

Trident Splash contains gelatin, a protein gotten by boiling the skin, tendon, ligament, and bones of animals with water. The gelatin in Trident gum is derived from a pork base and thus is not halal.

  • Strawberry Lime
  • Peppermint Swirl

Trident Layers

Trident Layers is a mixture of two regular-sized pieces of different flavours of Trident gum. It also contains gelatin and is not halal.

  • Strawberry & Citrus
  • Cherry & Lime
  • Grape + Lemonade
  • Swedish Fish
  • Watermelon & Tropical Fruit

Conclusion: All trident gum flavours are halal, except Trident Splash and Trident Layers, which contain gelatin derived from a pork base.

Click here for healthy gummies filled with dietary requirements suitable for following a vegan, halal and kosher diet. 



Does Trident contain alcohol?

No, Trident gum does not contain alcohol.

Which tridents are halal?

Trident gum that doesn't contain gelatin derived from a pork base is completely halal. They come in all kinds of flavours.

Is gum haram during Ramadan?

Yes, chewing gums are haram during Ramadan because they contain sugar and similar ingredients that are not allowed.