Sales Popup
Surat, Gujarat
6 hours ago

Is KitKat halal?

KitKat Halal

KitKat is one of the most popular chocolate bars around the world, and many adore it. But the main question of today’s blog is: is KitKat halal? Keep reading and find out.

KitKat Ingredients may vary

KitKat is part of the Nestle group and they have confirmed that there are differences in ingredients, depending on the part of the world. That is because Nestle produces them globally, except for the United States, where Hershey’s took over the production.

That being said, they cannot guarantee that the product you buy is 100% suitable and you will need to read the ingredient list for yourself, just to make sure everything in there is halal.

In the United States, the ingredient list looks like this:

sugar, wheat flour, cocoa butter, nonfat milk, chocolate, refined palm kernel oil, lactose (milk), milk fat

It contains 2% or less of: soy lecithin, PGPR (emulsifier), yeast, artificial flavor, salt, and sodium bicarbonate.

Based on this list, we couldn’t find any ingredients that are haram so it’s safe to consume, but in the meantime, ingredients might change so check it before consumming.


Are all KitKat flavors halal?

Based on your location, you might find entirely different flavors. Mint, Lemon drizzle, Salted caramel, and the list goes on and on. We have found out that most of the KitKat flavors are halal, but once again, make sure for yourself before you enjoy it. 

We created a list of KitKat flavors that are currently halal:

2 finger KitKat - Original, Dark Mint, Lemon drizzle, Orange, Dark, Cookies & Cream

4 finger KitKat - Original, Dark, Ruby

Chunky KitKat - Original, More chunky, Salted caramel, Peanut butter

KitKat Senses - Hazelnut, Salted Caramel, Double chocolate

All their products on this list are made without meat, fish, and their derivatives.

KitKat Chunky

Does KitKat have halal certification?

KitKat bars sold in the US are halal by nature, which means they do not contain any haram ingredients. Hershey’s have confirmed that KitKat is not yet halal-certified, but that doesn’t mean KitKats are haram.

All of their ingredients are always available on the packaging, and if you want you can also check it online. 

On the official Kitkat’s Twitter page, they wrote:

“Yes, our KitKats are suitable for a Halal diet. Should you wish a list of all Nestlé products that are suitable, please let us know your email address in a DM and we'll send it to you”

On the other hand, the plain milk chocolate KitKat range made in Australia is halal certified. This includes the 2 finger (17g), 4 finger (45g), ChunKy (50g), King Size (65g), and 170g block made in Australia, as well as share bags and bulk packs. As of April 2019, KitKat Gold, KitKat Chunky Caramel, and KitKat Dark are also halal certified.

With all that being said, yes KitKat is generally halal but just to be sure, check the label before enjoying it because the ingredients change based on the market’s needs. Some KitKats might contain haram ingredients, but most of them shouldn’t.

Are you searching for more halal sweets? Chewwies are gummies made for everyone!