Gfuel is a famous, sugar-free, rich-flavoured energy drink. It is one drink made especially for gamers - to help boost energy, attention, endurance, and reaction time.
It is popular for being the official energy drink of Esports and is a better alternative to most beverages judging from its nutritional value. Each flavour comes with a distinct, delightful, sweet flavour and offers dozens of flavours to suit everyone's diverse tastes.
It could be compared to the red bull energy drink. But before using these drinks to boost our gaming experience and general energy level, we need to ask the question - are gfuels halal?
For a drink to be halal, it has to be alcohol-free alongside containing non-haram animal material! Hence, to answer this question we need to take a look at the various ingredients used in the production.
Gfuel is produced using natural ingredients, it is gluten-free, sugar-free, and said to be loaded with vitamins and antioxidants. Let's take a closer look to see if it might contain any haram ingredients.
Here are some of the ingredients used in the production of gfuel;
Maltodextrin is the carbohydrate source used in the production of most Gfuels flavours. It is obtained from corn, rice, potato starch, or wheat, all of which are of plant origin, hence it is considered halal.
Despite not being sugar, maltodextrin can raise your blood sugar levels. Hence persons with diabetes or insulin resistance should drink mildly.
Taurine is a protein substance rich in nitrogen. It is essential for the brain, eyes, heart, and skeletal muscles to function properly. Taurine plays a vital role in regulating minerals like calcium in the body, aiding the prevention of tiredness from frequent muscle contraction.
It is very important for gamers. The halal status of taurine is quite controversial, if produced from haram animal products it becomes haram but if produced from halal or non-animal derivatives it is halal.
This is a commonly used ingredient in soft drinks and other liquids. It is a sugar replacement used to give the delightful energy drink its sweet taste. Sucralose is not broken down into the human system and is expelled intact.
It is generally halal.
Caffeine is a well-known stimulant of the nervous system and is seen mostly in coffee, tea, and soft drinks. It has a huge impact on reaction time, alertness, focus, and motor coordination - making them all favourable.
Caffeine is halal!
Velvet beans seed extract
The velvet bean plant is indigenous to the tropical areas of Africa, the Caribbean, and India. It is taken for its host of health benefits of which its positive effect on the neurological system stand. It is added in gfuels for its ability to lift one's spirit.
Velvet beans extract are halal except contaminated.
Citrus fruits naturally produce citric acid. It has a sour taste and is used to induce distinct flavours in most drinks. Citric acid also serves as a preservative and is entirely halal!
The human body creates this compound itself, from the amino acids lysine and methionine with the aid of vitamin C. Carnitine help produce energy by releasing fatty acids while increasing brain performance.
It is considered halal and fit for the Islamic diet.
Artificial colours are used in gfuel powder mixture to give it the gamy colour that it is known and loved for. Not all artificial colours are halal, hence the gfuel drink could be halal or haram if the artificial colour used is.
Gfuels are fortified with a lot of vitamins like vitamins C, E, and B. This vitamin plays countless roles from antioxidation to boosting immunity and a host of other body functions.
Vitamins are added in gfuels because they boost cognitive ability and emotion control needed for an amazing gaming experience. Vitamins are halal and healthy!
Is it halal?
Judging from the list of ingredients used, gfuel drinks could be halal or haram. While it's safe to say it is not halal as it lacks the halal certification and may contain some haram ingredients a couple of them could be said to be halal!
Also, gfuel isn't popular in Middle Eastern nations, giving another hint it may be haram as only halal drinks are acceptable in such regions.
It's also important to add that excess consumption of it may be unhealthy looking at makeup.
GFuel might not just be another energy drink as it comes with a lot of health benefits and gaming vibes, but its halal status remains questionable, hence you might want to thread with caution!
Chewwies remain one of your best bets for eating healthy, halal and tasty!