Sales Popup
Surat, Gujarat
6 hours ago

How To Know Which Gummy Brand is Halal Or Not?

How To Know Which Gummy Brand is Halal Or Not?
Get a free sample pack!


What's the best way to take your medicines and nutrients if you aren't fond of pills and syrups? 

Apparently, brand manufacturers have also recognized this struggle and thus came forth with gummies and candies. 

One essential ingredient of these jellies is gelatin, the jelly texture-producing substance that's the most debated topic between halal and haram foods. If you also plan to use gummies such as Haribo but aren't sure whether they are halal or not, here are some tips to help you get the perfect ones.

Check for halal certification

Gummies are completely manufactured products, which may or may not have halal ingredients. As we can't see the manufacturing process or figure out what is used for making jelly-like gelatin or glazing agents, we should depend on the certification.

Every country has its halal certification boards that examine the manufacturing procedures and certify different brands. They might be slightly different for each place and can follow various examining procedures, but all are accepted for halal.

You can look for the reputed HMC (Halal Monitoring Committee) in your country and ensure the products have authentication stamps. Even if you are visiting restaurants, make sure to ask the waiters about a halal certification before you enjoy your meals!

Is pork used as an ingredient?

Pork is essentially a haram ingredient. Commercial manufacturers often use pork-derived gelatin as it is easy to produce and use in large quantities.

Generally, many products have labels indicating pork gelatin, which you strictly need to avoid. Or you can also look for the green button, which shows that it's a whole plant product.

Pork as an ingredient

Plant-based products are all halal

Vegan and vegetarian extracts aren't harmful to humans, making them 100% halal. Many brands now offer multi-vitamin gummies and snackable candies that contain plant-based ingredients.

They use pectin for producing the jelly texture, which is entirely a fruit and vegetable product. Glazing agents like carnauba wax, beeswax, or candelilla wax are used for producing shine. You can also find flavoured gummies with different berry and fruit flavours to consume without the threat of any side effects.

Kosher products are also permissible as halal

As Islamic rule categorises some foods as halal products, Jewish Bible also categorises some as Kosher. According to Jewish principles, manufacturers of Kosher products also follow religious sacrificial rules to obtain permissible meats.

Generally, Kosher gelatin, made from fish or bovine body parts, is permissible as a halal product that you can safely use. You can check for "K" or "OU" symbols on the packs to ensure they are Kosher.

Watch out for alcohol-infused gummies!

Alcohol and fermented beverages are all haram products, which aren't suitable for your gummies. They are prohibited according to Islamic rule since they are intoxicating and manipulate our senses.

Many drug-infused gummies often contain alcoholic extracts to produce various flavours and enhance the euphoric effect. Thus, check out if your gummies have any such extracts or pure vanilla extracts that aren't allowed.

Alcohol-infused gummies

Gelatin-less gummies are always safe

Gelatin is one essential ingredient used in all jellies and gummies to give out the jelly texture. Usually, the bones and skin of animals like bovines and pigs are used in preparing gelatin, which makes them haram.

Though on conditions beef gelatin is halal, we can't be sure if it's simply written as gelatin in the ingredient list. On the other hand, those products having no gelatin, like our Chewwies nutritional gummies, are entirely safe to consume guilt-free. They only have vegan extracts gummies containing pectin, carnauba wax, and malt syrups.


Though supplement-rich or drug-infused gummies are similar to medicines, we can't adjust to them without ensuring they are halal. Gummies are widely manufactured using various plant and animal extracts, making some halal and some haram. 

Watching out for a few haram ingredients, unethical manufacturing procedures, and halal certification stamps can help us distinguish if they are really permissible to use.