Sales Popup
Surat, Gujarat
6 hours ago

Is whey protein halal?

Is whey protein halal?

You may have heard about the perks of whey protein in weight management and athletic performance. It’s almost impossible to go to the gym without running into someone consuming a shake full of this delicious protein powder.

However, many people have concerns about whey protein and whether or not it’s halal or permissible according to Islamic law.

If you have these same concerns, this article will help you better understand whey protein’s halal status, how it’s made, and the different whey protein types. 

Quick Answer: Is whey protein halal? It can be tough to determine which protein powders are halal and which ones aren’t. There are varying schools of thought with differing views on the halal status of whey protein. 

Read on to make an informed conclusion about whether whey protein is good for you!

What is Whey Protein? 

Whey protein is used by athletes, bodybuilders, and fitness enthusiasts alike. It is a complete/whole protein source, meaning it contains all nine essential amino acids in sufficient amounts. Whey is also a good source of branched-chain amino acids.

Whey protein is available in three different types:
  • Whey Protein Concentrate (WPC) is low in fat and carbohydrates. It contains around 70–80% protein, some lactose, and fat and has the most pleasing taste.
  • Whey Protein Isolate (WPI) is processed further to eliminate all fat and lactose. It contains 90% or more protein, less lactose and fat, and lacks many essential nutrients in WPC.
  • Whey Protein Hydrolysate (WPH) is a predigested version of whey protein — allowing for quicker absorption. WPH induces a 28–43% higher insulin surge than whey protein isolate.

Whey Protein Isolate

Health Benefits of Whey Protein

Whey protein is often considered the most effective protein source for building muscle strength. And aside from muscle strength, it may offer many other health benefits.

Protects Against Allergies in Children

Whey protein is helpful to everyone, not just adults. Infants given this protein combination by mouth within the first 3-12 months of their lives have a decreased chance of having red, itchy skin and allergic responses. It means that this, just like other halal-certified multivitamins for kids, are a good option for your children’s health!

Reduces Cholesterol 

Whey protein is effective for lowering cholesterol.

Boost Immune Systems

Glutathione is a tripeptide in whey protein that aids in immunity and functions as an antioxidant. Glutathione improves the integrity of our DNA’s telomeres, which are known to decrease as we age. Studies demonstrate that boosting the body’s glutathione synthesis may even go as far as halting the ageing process.

While most glutathione supplements give essentially no health advantages when consumed directly, research has shown that whey is an easy way to increase glutathione. This is because high-quality whey protein includes the most significant quantities of the whole spectrum of naturally occurring glutathione precursors.

Protein powder

How is Whey Protein Made?

The next time you open a yoghurt, take note of the layer of liquid floating on top; that’s whey.
Whey protein is a combination of protein isolates from whey, the watery part of milk separated as a byproduct of the cheese-making process.
After separation, whey goes through many processes to form what is commonly known as whey protein.

Whey Protein: Halal or Haram?

Whey is obtained when milk is curdled by the addition of ‘rennet’ or ‘pepsin.’ Rennet is obtained from calves and goats, while pepsin is extracted from swine.
So, there are two scenarios:
  1. Whey protein gotten when milk is processed with pepsin is not halal.
  2. When the milk is fermented with rennet, there are two alternative possibilities:
  • The resulting whey protein is halal if the rennet is derived from an animal killed in the Islamic method.
  • If the rennet is gotten from dead animals that were not slaughtered the Islamic way, it is haram.
Some other haram ingredients commonly added to whey protein include:
  • Gelatin
  • Cholic Acid
  • L-Cystine
  • L-Cysteine
  • Lanoline
  • Edible bone phosphate
  • Cochineal Extract
  • Carmine


The halal status of whey protein can be tricky to ascertain the ingredients label might not inform you what was added to curdle the milk. Your best bet is to check for halal-certified badges. 

If you want to be sure, discover our vegan multivitamins and stay healthy!