Sales Popup
Surat, Gujarat
6 hours ago

Is energy drink Monster halal?

Is energy drink Monster halal
Get a free Chewwies Vitamins pack!


These days, a lot of young people are drinking energy drinks.  

One of the most well-known energy drinks is Monster. But do we really understand what's in our cold energy drink?

The majority of the ingredients are simple to comprehend. Others, on the other hand, are less evident. 

This is especially true of additions or misleading chemicals referred to as "natural flavours."

On a halal diet, there are hundreds of substances to avoid. Pork, alcohol, and whey are examples of non-halal components.

Monster energy drinks are now available all over the world, thus this post applies to everyone who consumes them, no matter where they are in the world.

We exclusively used the official Monster energy drink websites to find out where the drinks are made and distributed around the world.

How is Monster made?

Monster energy drink's key ingredients include caffeine, sugar, taurine, and B-Vitamins, all of which are either plant-based or synthetically produced.

Here's what we found when we looked into the ingredients:

  • Natural flavours, carbonated water, sucrose, glucose, citric acid, taurine
  • Panax ginseng root extract, sodium citrate, colour added
  • Caffeine, L-carnitine, and L-tartrate
  • Niacinamide, sorbic acid, benzoic acid
  • Guarana seed extract, pyridoxine hydrochloride, sucralose, sodium chloride, Glycine max glucuronolactone, inositol, pyridoxine hydrochloride
  • Maltodextrin, riboflavin, and cyanocobalamin

The only thing on the ingredient list that caught our attention was taurine. Meat, fish, and dairy products are all sources of taurine.

Taurine is vegan in energy drinks. Despite the fact that taurine is only produced naturally in meat, it is currently synthesized in large quantities.

Furthermore, major energy drink companies such as Monster, Red Bull, and Rockstar have all said that their taurine is vegan.

Taurine is an amino acid. Amino acids, which are the building components, are the elements that make proteins up.

We eat proteins, which are broken down into amino acids in our bodies, and then our bodies can use those amino acid building blocks to create new proteins.

Taurine is featured in energy drinks because, according to some studies, it has been shown to boost athletic performance and mental function when combined with caffeine.

When in doubt, we consult the vegan community to see if Monster beverages are acceptable and whether they can be consumed. If they can, it means it's free of animal products.

sugar in monster energy

Which Monster drinks are haram?

Although most Monster energy drinks are vegan, there are a few exceptions. According to Monster's company, taurine and L-carnitine are both vegan.

Java Monster, on the other hand, isn't vegan because it contains milk. Other non-vegan substances, like carmine, are also utilized in various Monster flavours in some locations.

Here are the flavours of Monster that aren’t permissible for consumption by Muslims:

  1. Monster HydroSport Charge -Haram due to E120
  2. Monster Punch & Energy Drink -Haram due to E120
  3. Monster Energy Ultra Red Drink- Haram due to E120

E120, or Carminic acid, is a pigment found in the body and eggs of female cochineals.

Females are gathered before they deposit their eggs, when their colour turns red, for the manufacturing of E120 colourant. 


Vitamins B2, B3, B5, B6, B12, and Vitamin C, which are all vital nutrients for raising energy levels and many other bodily processes, are all included in the Monster energy drink.

The majority of Monster energy's B-vitamins are artificially produced, with a few others taken from plant-based sources. 

As a result, it's safe to assume that Monster’s vitamins are vegan.

vitamin c


Please keep in mind that these beverages contain a lot of sugar and caffeine, so drink them with caution. 

Depending on where you live, some of the items we discussed may not have the same ingredients. It's always a good idea to double-check the packaging's label to ensure the item is halal.

At Chewwies, we're actively working on getting our gummies certified by HMC. Since our products do not contain any animal products and do not contain alcohol.



Does Monster Energy drink have alcohol in it?

Monster Energy drink usually does not have alcohol.

Is taurine halal in Islam?

Taurine is halal in Islam as long as it is derived from non-animal ingredients or synthetically.

Are energy drinks safe to consume?

Energy drinks are safe for consumption as long as they are consumed in normal amounts. They contain a lot of sugar and caffeine, so you have to be careful.