ARE LUCKY CHARMS HALAL?

Lucky charms halal

For over fifty years, Lucky Charms cereal has been a breakfast-favourite for kids in most parts of the world. It contains two parts; toasted oat pieces and multi-coloured marshmallow shapes called Marbits.

Unfortunately, Lucky Charms have come under religious and cultural criticism over the years. And it's not because of the cereal itself, but the marshmallow bits.

While some companies like Chewwies are dedicated to producing sugar-free, vegan, and 100% halal-certified kid treats, it might come as a surprise that Lucky Charms does not tick all these boxes.

In this article, we will be looking at General Mills' Lucky Charms cereal and answering the big question, Are Lucky Charms Halal?

Quick Answer: Lucky Charms is not Halal, and it's not the cereal itself that is Haram, but the marshmallow bits.

Read on to understand why Lucky Charms Marbits are Haram.

Lucky Chams Cereal

Why are Lucky Charms Marbits Not Halal?

Lucky Charms was the first breakfast cereal to include marshmallows in its recipe. 

The infamous Marbits come in different shapes and colours: purple horseshoes, red balloons, blue crescent-moons, orange shooting stars, yellow and orange pots of gold, rainbows, green leprechaun hats, and pink hearts. 

They contain sugar, modified corn starch, corn syrup, dextrose, gelatin, and artificial flavour.

Sugar, modified corn starch, corn syrup, and artificial flavour are all sourced from synthetic or vegetable origins. Gelatin, however, is a protein obtained from boiling the skin, tendon, ligament, and bones of animals with water. 

According to a customer relations representative from General Mills, the gelatin in Lucky Charms is derived from pork collagen and thus is not halal.

Below is a list of other popular Lucky Charms products that contain pig-sourced gelatin:

Original Lucky Charms Cereal

The original Lucky Charms cereal contains; Whole Grain Oats, Sugar, Corn Starch, Modified Corn Starch, Corn Syrup, Dextrose, Salt, Gelatin, Trisodium Phosphate, Red 40, Yellow 5 & 6, Blue 1, Natural and Artificial Flavour. Vitamin and Minerals.

Conclusion: Original Lucky Charms cereal contains pig-based gelatin and thus is not halal.

Fruity Lucky Charms Cereal

Fruity Lucky Charms cereal contains; Whole Grain Corn, Sugar, Corn Syrup, Dextrose, Corn Starch, Modified Corn Starch, Salt, Canola Oil, Gelatin, Tricalcium Phosphate, Calcium Carbonate, Trisodium Phosphate, Colour, Citric Acid, Malic Acid, Graham's Salt, Natural and Artificial Flavour.

Conclusion: Fruity Lucky Charms cereal is also not halal as it contains gelatin.

Fruity Lucky Charms

Chocolate Lucky Charms Cereal

Chocolate Lucky Charms cereal contains; Whole Grain Corn, Sugar, Corn Syrup, Sunflower Oil, Dextrose, Cocoa Processed with Alkali, Yellow 5 & 6, Red 40, Blue 1, Modified Corn Starch, Corn Starch, Salt, Gelatin, Fructose, Natural and Artificial Flavour, Trisodium Phosphate, Vitamins, and Mineral.

Conclusion: Chocolate Lucky Charms cereal is not halal.

Other Haram General Mills' Products

  • Lucky Charms instant oatmeal
  • Lucky Charms honey clovers cereal
  • Lucky Charms treat
  • Count Chocula
  • Boo Berry
  • Frankenberry

Conclusion

Lucky Charms cereal is not Halal. It contains pig gelatin, which is obtained from boiling the skin, tendon, ligament, and bones of pigs with water, and should not be consumed by Muslims.